EFL Awards 2019 – Who won what?

Written by Barry Spence of @TimeAddedOn

We always find it strange that these accolades are given out with so many twists and turns of the season still to play out, but the EFL Awards for 2019 have been decided.

With 100’s of players to choose from in each of the 3 EFL divisions – it’s always a tough task to pinpoint a solitary winner from each division before attempting to create an overall team. That being said, it’s a task which has been completed for this season and the victors are as follows: –

Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season Award

Winner: Teemu Pukki (Norwich City)

Embed from Getty Images

What a free transfer this has been! The Finnish international has netted on 29 occasions (the highest number of goals by any Norwich player in a single season) firing his side to the top of The Championship and into the wealth of the top division.

After failing to agree a new contract with Brondby he was snapped up by an under-pressure Daniel Farke to lead the line at Carrow Road.

He is no stranger to these shores having had a spell with Scottish Champions Celtic back in 2013 but his 3yr deal was cut short and he headed to Sweden.

He has had spells in Spain (Sevilla) and Germany (Schalke 04) but has now found his home and is adored in East Anglia, the next test for him will be helping to keep Norwich up in the big time.

Sky Bet League One Player of the Season Award

Winner: James Collins (Luton Town)

Embed from Getty Images

He’s been prolific in what looks like back to back promotions for Luton Town, 19 goals last term has been bettered by 24 this year.

Integral to the hatters’ long unbeaten run and trusted by both Nathan Jones earlier in the season and caretaker Mick Hartford during the pivotal run-in.

The well-travelled striker is still only 28 and will be a handful for most Championship defences next season with his playing style.

Still chasing international recognition having recently been named in Republic Of Ireland’s recent squad in March.

Sky Bet League Two Player of the Season Award

Winner: James Norwood (Tranmere Rovers)

Embed from Getty Images

The Tranmere goal machine, a strike record on nearly 1 in 2 for over 4 seasons at Prenton Park is a magnificent achievement. A feat that will be remembered all the more should they achieve promotion to League One having just arrived back in the EFL from the National League.

England’s most deadly marksman in 2018 outscoring Mo Salah and Sergio Aguero.

Feels he has a point to prove in a climb up the leagues having been released by Exeter City back in 2011. A few years in the Conference Premier followed before current club Tranmere snapped him up from Forest Green at the end of 2015. 89 goals later and it’s proved a shrewd piece of business.

EA Sports Young Player of the Season Award

Winner: Max Aarons (Norwich City)

Embed from Getty Images

Another winner from Premier League-bound Norwich City and this lad is a serious talent.

Aged just 19 and with a full season under his belt, he is being closely monitored by the top clubs in the country.

This right back has it all – pace, crossing ability, eye for goal and his defending isn’t too bad either, as he is about to receive his league winners medal after his debut campaign.

Capped by England at U19 level, however it looks increasingly likely he’ll be drafted into the U21’s for the upcoming Euro championships in Italy this summer.

Football Manager Team of the Season

Manager: Chris Wilder

Adam Davies – Barnsley

Max Aarons – Norwich City

Krystian Pearce – Mansfield Town

Liam Cooper – Leeds United

James Justin – Luton Town

Alex Mowatt – Barnsley

Jay O’Shea – Bury

Jarrod Bowen – Hull City

Teemu Pukki – Norwich City

Billy Sharp – Sheffield United

James Norwood – Tranmere Rovers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: